Finally! A few Quilt FO’s!

4 11 2007

With the exception of one baby quilt about 6 months ago, I have hardly quilted in the past few years. Well, I was motivated this weekend, and despite my back, I finished 4 half-done quilts, and made a top!

So here is the quilt top for our niece, Mysti, who we just found out is having a boy on 11/16 – so I had to hurry! My photography skills do not do this quilt justice. The fabric is a beautiful aqua blue and chocolate. Here are a couple of the blocks:
mystisbabyquilt.jpg

Here is the finished top. I’ll have to get some good pictures once it is quilted. I will definitely post that up, too.

mystisbabyquilt2.jpg

And just in time for Halloween (NOT!), I hand pieced the 5″ squares, then broke out the sewing machine for the borders, then added prairie points. They were surprisingly easy!

halloweentablerunnerno_pp.jpg

halloweentablerunnerpp.jpg

And I bought a kit for this Christmas quilt years ago. I remember being on a shopping trip with Sarah Schroeder in WA, so it’s way over 4 years ago! Whomever cut the kit didn’t do the best job on fussy cutting the Santas, but I guess that makes it extra “homey”. 😉 I have just one side of the binding to finish hand-stitching on.

christmasquilt1.jpg

And the flannel baby girls’ quilts, of which I made 3. The first I finished and even machine quilted went to one of the guys that works for Ed and his wife. They had a cute little baby girl. Here are the other two, waiting to be shipped off to get long-arm quilted:

babyquilt2.jpg

Quilts=cat magnets, oui?

babyquilt3.jpg

babyquilt4.jpg

And last week, after finding out that Mysti and her hubby are having a boy, I broke out the baby blue yarn and knitted up my first booties and baby hat:

dantebabybooties.jpg

dantebabyhat.jpg

The blue goes with Dante’s eyes, don’t you think? 😉 (Poor kitty putting up with me dressing him up!)

froginthepool1007.jpg

Here’s one of our frog friends I caught playing in the pool, as mentioned in my last post. Actually, with the cool weather we’ve had the last 2 weeks, I think they’ve gone into hibernation for the winter. I haven’t seen them around lately.

And, drum roll please, the appliances are ALL installed, the granite was installed last week, and everything except the tile is installed!!! Woohoooooo!!! Ed got the vent installed, too. You know the kind that comes up out of the counter, then goes back down? It is *too* cool. He spent practically all day Saturday getting everything squared away – the new sink, faucet and soap dispenser and stove top. This really is my dream kitchen! I simply love it. The granite looks so good, and was very nice to sew on all weekend. I never thought we’d be able to afford the granite, so I feel so very fortunate.

Hugs and kisses to friends and family!
xoxoxo

Betsy

Actions

Information

3 responses

6 11 2007
Becca

Betsy!!! Those quilts are beautiful! I soooooo want to learn to quilt. Just what I need…another messy hobby!

25 11 2007
Serena

You have a beautiful Siamese cat. I love Siamese!!! Beautiful quilts btw also!!! 🙂

19 12 2007
Tonya

Thanks for your sweet comment on my blog…and taking the time to stop in…

I love that aqua micheal miller quilt…I first started sewing due to their fabrics…

and those knitted kitty booties…too cute!

Leave a Reply

